Adventure in St. Margaret’s Bay

I am staying with my friends Curtis Dietz and Gina Patterson in Hackett’s Cove, Nova Scotia, just outside of Halifax. Curtis and I are playing together tonight in a concert series in Mahone Bay. Last night I stayed in a tent on their wonderful waterfront property, and was lulled to sleep by the waves of St. Margaret’s Bay lapping against the shore. The sounds of deer munching on foliage woke me through the night, as did the sound of a seal’s bark, and various other critters, but it had no negative impact on the quality of my sleep. It was just so nice to feel so intimately connected to nature. This morning after breakfast, Curtis and I headed out into the bay in his zodiac, and went for a hike on Shut-In Island. The photo below was taken from the top of the island, looking east towards Peggy’s Cove. It was a great day to be out on the water. Nova Scotia has some spectacular scenery. It’s ridiculous, actually, how much time I spend here, and how little I’ve seen. I’ve really gotta get out more. And although today is not a day off for me (I won’t get one of those for a couple more weeks), the pleasure of today’s adventure had the same effect: I feel relaxed, renewed, and energized. Thanks, Curtis!

Shut-In Island

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Adventure in St. Margaret’s Bay

  1. Cyn says:

    Beautiful!
    Nothing like nature to make you feel all natural.

Leave a comment